Home › Forums › Dawn Patrol/Fight in the Skies › Rules Discussion › Tailing and the Circle maneuver
- This topic is empty.
-
AuthorPosts
-
June 6, 2011 at 2:12 am #6581
Mark Stevenson
MemberIn the Tailing section under Reversals, part b) states:
If the attacker can match the target’s maneuver with one of the cards in his hand, then the attacker must perform that same maneuver immediately or be reversed (see below). {This is referring to Circle, Loop, or Stall maneuvers only.}
So my first question would be: If the target performs a Circle and chooses to Circle Left, is the attacker considered reversed if he chooses to perform a Circle Right? In other words my concern is you are choosing the maneuver but not copying him EXACTLY, so what is the ruling?
Also, can the attacker delay one square when following the target’s Circle maneuver? The above rule says no, but section h) under Maneuver Cards states that the only moves that must be performed immediately are the Loop and Stall maneuvers. So there appears to be some contradiction there.
I am referencing the Tailing rules printed on page 11 of the 7th edition book.
Thanks!
June 10, 2011 at 2:47 pm #7674Dan Danoski
MemberI’d say, if you have the circle card, you have anticipated your opponent ‘s move and you may go right if you want, without being reversed.I believe you may delay a circle. Where is a rules lawyer when you need him? Oh, that,s right. They usually show up during a game…
June 10, 2011 at 7:10 pm #7676Andrew Priest
ParticipantYou know, I answered the question about the loop the other day, and we have always played that if you do a loop, the same loop must be performed immediately or you are reversed… but for circles we have allowed the delay by one, even though it is a reversal as well… now I am curious too…
June 10, 2011 at 10:02 pm #7677Mark Stevenson
MemberNoski, the reversal rule says that you must perform the maneuver or be reversed. You might anticipate the move and choose not to perform it, but technically you would be reversed voluntarily in that case.
Andy, yes thanks for answering the question about the loop during the email game. You might have noticed that I actually posted this question before that loop was performed because I was more concerned about the circle than the loop. The loop obviously helped me escape in my Camel even though the enemy tailing me had copied it.

Hey Mike!!!…
June 11, 2011 at 4:42 am #7678Dan Danoski
MemberTechnicaly, I am doing the manuever.If you stall and then face left, I am not reversed if I face right at the end of my stall.There is no mention of direction in the rule, just the manuever.
June 28, 2011 at 2:18 pm #7675Jim Phillips
ParticipantNerf bullets wrote:
Quote:So my first question would be: If the target performs a Circle and chooses to Circle Left, is the attacker considered reversed if he chooses to perform a Circle Right? In other words my concern is you are choosing the maneuver but not copying him EXACTLY, so what is the ruling?Sorry to be late to the party guys. I can shed a little light on this subject. When we (Arizona) started coming to the spring mini-con these were some of the issues we beat up Mr. Carr with as he played differently than we did. [/color]
In the modified tailing systems used in both Indiana and Arizona a direction must be picked before performing the manuever and shown to the tailer. If he chooses a different direction the tail is broken. This does not cover your question exactly but I hope it helps. (You would be reversed using our system)
Also, can the attacker delay one square when following the target’s Circle maneuver? The above rule says no, but section h) under Maneuver Cards states that the only moves that must be performed immediately are the Loop and Stall maneuvers. So there appears to be some contradiction there.
On this I can answer definetively. When circling you are allowed to delay one. Also the circle manuever must be performed completely meaning the full movement cost. If taken literally this means you end up in the same square as the guy your tailing. Mr Carr states that you can perform less movement in order to retain the tail. However the next turn you must finish the maneuver before performing any other maneuver. Now for the contradiction
Looping must be performed with no delay. The most accepted way of breaking an off-angle tail is to loop 8(movement) and then turn towards your tailer for the head-on shot. This does not matter so much in the stall as both of you move forward only one space.Just a comment on looping to be thorough. When tailing a looping plane the loop you perform must be the same size or larger. So if the tailie does a 4 pt. loop the tailer can do a 4, 6, or 8 point loop and still be tailing. And if the tailie does a 6 or 8 pt loop and tailer does a 4 pt loop he is reversed.
Hope this helps!!!
Thanks!July 20, 2011 at 6:52 pm #7679Mark Stevenson
MemberFigured I would write down here what I found out from Mike last weekend. It was the first thing I talked about as soon as I got to his house, lol.
1) The circle maneuver CAN be delayed by one. The wording in part b) under reversals does contradict part h) under maneuver cards (both on page 11) with respect to Circling. Regarding circling, it should be ignored.
2) If the target chooses to circle left , the attacker MAY circle right and is still considered to be tailing, he is not reversed. THIS OF COURSE APPLIES ONLY TO THE STANDARD 16 CARD TAILING RULES. In any of the optional tailing systems, this would not be the case and the target would reverse the attacker in a left vs right situation.
Thanks everybody for your input, and thanks Mike!
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.