Home › Forums › Dawn Patrol/Fight in the Skies › Rules Discussion › Banking
- This topic is empty.
-
AuthorPosts
-
June 26, 2008 at 6:32 pm #6382
Andrew Priest
ParticipantA question came up on a move in an e-game, and we discussed it last night at our regular weekly game & all agreed, but couldnt find the rule to back it up…
player banked right down a line three squares, turned 45 out of the bank, and then immediately banked right again another three on the angle – which we all agreed was not legal.
the rulebook states that there must be two squares btwn a bank and a fancy, but where are we coming up with the rule that you must move one square b4 banking again??July 22, 2008 at 6:15 pm #6799Alan Christensen
ParticipantMy recollectioin is that it’s two squares between any maneuvers.
July 23, 2008 at 9:10 pm #6800Daniel Cotte
MemberAccording to the rulebook (p.4, second paragraph under Special Maneuvers…) it says: “A bank must be separated from banks in the opposite direction and other non-simple maneuvers by at least two squares of normal movement.” I couldn’t find anything else regarding other maneuvers that require “in-between” moves anywhere else.
July 24, 2008 at 3:27 pm #6821Alan Christensen
ParticipantOK, I’ll have to find a rule book and reread it.
August 8, 2008 at 11:36 pm #6823Alan Christensen
ParticipantDang, I couldn’t find anything either. I sent an inquiry to Mike Carr, I’ll let you know when I get an answer.
September 5, 2008 at 9:51 pm #6875Alan Christensen
ParticipantI talked to Mike. The whole point of the exercise is to not allow maneuvers to create something resembling a “rotary right” for planes that don’t have one. Since you can already only do one altitude/fancy/reversal per turn (on P. 4, the sentence before the one quoted above) there’s no problem how many squares between them. Anything done with the maneuvers straight or turn can be done without doing a maneuver so restricting them would serve no purpose. Which leaves us with left and right banks, and how those relate to the one fancy. If you do a right bank, face out to the right and immediately another right bank it seems unnatural but you are in effect doing a 45 degree right turn (the same applies to the left varieties). The only situations remaining which can create unnatural rotary right (or left!) turns are the ones covered in the rule quoted above.
Works for me.
September 6, 2008 at 4:25 am #6910Daniel Cotte
Member…so the aforementioned move was legal, yes?
September 8, 2008 at 4:19 pm #6911Alan Christensen
ParticipantYup.
October 9, 2011 at 9:44 pm #6916Dan Danoski
MemberThis one of my buggaboos about this rule. You may cheat if you tail someone from the tail fan and they pull a bank and you delay the move by one, in effect the illegal move described earlier in this post.
D
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.